A good place to start any tour of Skagway is the former White Pass and Yukon Railroad Depot. This massive, colorful structure, built in 1898, was a dominant part of Skagway life until 1969, when railroad operations moved to the WP&YR's new building two doors east. The old depot is now the National Park Service Visitor Center, where visitors can enjoy movies, walking tours and other activities during the summer. Although the tracks are now on the south side of the building, passenger trains used to chug down Broadway on their way into town from Whitehorse, 112 miles to the north. Note the second story bay window overlooking Broadway, once used by the railroad dispatcher. Also note the much fancier yellow-colored Administration Building. Built in1900, today it houses the NPS Gold Rush Museum.